The Hon. John Howard AC
Liberal Party, Australia

Deputy Chairman

The Rt. Hon. David Lidington MP
Conservative Party, United Kingdom

Assistant Chairmen

The Rt. Hon. William Hague MP
Conservative Party, United Kingdom

The Hon. Shane L. Stone AC, QC, PGDK
Liberal Party, Australia

The Hon. Henrique Fernando Salas Römer
Proyecto Venezuela, Venezuela

Vice Chairmen

Dr. Kizza Besigye
Chairman, DUA
Forum for Democratic Change, Uganda

Hon. Reinhold Bocklet MdL
Christian Social Union, Germany

Hon. John Chiang
Kuomintang, Republic of China

Hon. Tony Clement MP
Conservative Party, Canada

Hon. Alexander Downer
Liberal Party, Australia

Hon. Per-Kristian Foss MP
EDU Chairman,
Conservative Party, Norway

Peter Goodfellow
National Party, New Zealand

Hon. Peter Hintze MdB
Christian Democrat Union, Germany

Senator Carlos Larrain
Renovacion Nacional, Chile

Hon. Peter Mac Manu
New Patriotic Party, Ghana

Hon. Etibar Mammadov
National Independence Party, Azerbaijan

Prime Minister Petr Necas
Civic Democratic Party (ODS), Czech Republic

Senator Jovino Novoa
Chairman, Union of Latin American Parties (UPLA)
Union Democrata Independiente, Chile

Dr. Koh, Seung-Duk MP
Saenuri Party (New Frontier Party)

Vice Chancellor Michael Spindelegger
Austrian People's Party (ÖVP), Austria

Hon. Jose Ricardo Taveras
Fuerza Nacional Progresista, Dominican Republic

Rt. Hon Baroness Warsi
Conservative Party, United Kingdom

Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe MP
Chairman, APDU
United National Party, Sri Lanka

Hon. Jan Zahradil MEP
President, AECR
Civic Democratic Party (ODS), Czech Republic


Lord Ashcroft KCMG
Conservative Party, United Kingdom

Political Auditor

Eva Gustavsson
Moderate Party, Sweden

Secretary General

Eirik Moen
Conservative Party, Norway


The Hon. John Howard

The Hon John Winston Howard is the 25th person to have occupied the office of Prime Minister of Australia since Federation. He served his country as Prime Minister for almost 12 years, between March 1996 and December 2007. 

Mr Howard came to office as Prime Minister with extensive senior experience in both government and opposition. He was appointed Minister for Business and Consumer Affairs in 1975 at the age of 36 and subsequently served as Minister for Special Trade Negotiations and as Treasurer of the Commonwealth for over five years.

In September 1985 Mr Howard, as Deputy Leader, was elected by his colleagues as Leader of the Parliamentary Liberal Party and, therefore, Leader of the Opposition. He held this post until May 1989. He was returned to the leadership by unanimous vote of his colleagues on 30 January 1995. In the interim period between holding the leadership he served as Coalition spokesman for a number of senior portfolios.

Mr Howard was born in Sydney on 26 July 1939, attending school at Earlwood Primary and Canterbury Boys' High. He went on to the University of Sydney, graduated with a Bachelor of Laws in 1961 and was admitted as a Solicitor of the NSW Supreme Court in July 1962. Mr Howard represented the Federal seat of Bennelong in the North-Western suburbs of Sydney and was returned to the Parliament from this marginal seat at every Federal election from 1974 to 2007. Prior to his election to Parliament he was a partner in a Sydney firm of solicitors.

The former Prime Minister has been active with the Liberal Party since the age of 18 when he joined the Young Liberal Movement and participated in student politics at university.

In addition to his life-long commitment to public service and the Liberal Party, Mr Howard is a keen follower of sport - particularly cricket. He enjoys playing tennis and golf and follows the St George Rugby League football team.

Mr Howard married his wife Janette, a teacher by profession, on 4 April 1971. They have three children, Melanie, Tim and Richard.


International Democrat Union P.O. Box 1536 Vika, N-0117 Oslo, Norway
Tel: +47 2282 9000 direct after office hours +47 2282 9072 Fax: +47 2282 9080